An Open Letter To The Reply By Mr Harmandeep (ex ota cadet) .

. An Open Letter To The Reply By Mr Harmandeep (ex ota cadet)

1. I wish you along with all others had opened your mind before reading my article . Show me a single time when even remotely I insulted the organisation or anyone serving in it (refer the closing lines ) .
2. No where sir, did I mention the term lady officers , and a lady cadet is an official term . Right ?
3. About having a choice . My article as mentioned was intended to help many other aspirants to make an informed decision about their suitability for the profession and the life in the academy as the same is kept low profile to the outsiders.
(Do be kind enough to answer how many times were u asked at the academy to not tell anyone outside about the things inside ? Remember ! You are not supposed to say what happens inside . Although that might be for mental strength but then people have a right to know )
4. My utter regard for your success despite so many injuries but the technical faults brought about by the article about the training were not my whimsical dreams . Even the doctors inside the academy told us the same in an orientation prog and I quote ,” the casualty rate of IMA is 3% and that of OTA is 34% . Despite repeated recommendations made by the medical wing to bring about changes and include a full fledged strengthening oriented prog the same has been falling on deaf ears . The weather conditions play a pivotal role in this.”
    (Sorry , but I can’t disclose names )
5. Nobody questioned anyone’s love for the training so don’t think from your heart .
6. If you so keenly had worked on your physical fitness MONTHS before joining ota then why such a long list of fractures ?
7. Mr Ex OTA ‘the statement of making men out of boys is not coined by me ‘ these are the exact words that one of the academy’s highest appointments spoke to me .
8. Regarding speaking to GCs . Again the term eye candy is not my coinage. This term n reason was both given to us day in and day out by our own seniors. FOLLOW YOUR SENIORS RYT??
9. I too have been born and brought up in this environment n worked equally hard sir. And if you say there are negatives then be brave enough to accept the negative and not portray them as my insult to army.
10. Again  , I never judged or questioned if it is right or wrong to shut off one’s mind n follow orders . For your info I wrote IT WASN’T RIGHT FOR ME
11. And lastly to all those who are posses off that I wasted govt resources and the seat of another candidate. Folks , I paid 50k bucks for all the time I stayed there and hastened the withdrawal proceedings (which the academy was reluctant to ) so that the next person can join and gladly she has joined .

And for all those who were chanting the tunes of tradition and that I should have known that traditions are to be followed no matter what. Thank you for at least acknowledging the rigidity that prevails , and hopefully to accept that reforms are needed in tandem with the changing century.
The last time army act was amended was in 1951. This us 2016.

And for all those websites who published a story with a sick headline and half shown info … APPLAUDS to the INDIAN MEDIA .

Posted from WordPress for Android

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Meenu says:

    Girl u make me proud each tym u write smthin lyk dis…ppl lyk Mr.Harmandeep r taught “When in Rome do as Romans do”,so he is doin d same.U keep ur spirits high as dere r many out dere who supports ur decision n dat is more imp den few who r taking it as a cowardice or bla bla Coj dey even cant dare to listen to dere heart n goes wid d flow.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. UPSC CIVIL SERVICE IS WAITING FOR YOU.THIS WILL BE THE BEST REPLY TO ALL WHO ARE AGAINST OF YOU.HUM TO KARNAY MY VISHWAAS RAKHTY HAI ,U THO KUTO V BHHON BHHON KAR LETY HAI….

    Like

    1. You won’t believe everysingle friend of mine is telling me the same thing. Thanks buddy

      Like

      1. yes, it is there time ,let them speak ,you know it “kuch tho log kahayngay logo ka kaam hai kahna”,and its your time to listen ,just be keep and calm ,hold your nerves to till you achieve the next dream of desire. Himmat mat harna mayry dost i know your potential.Stay blessed.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you for all these blessings . God bless u

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Someone says:

        Hahaha…. Go for it Lady…

        Just know that IAS also has its downsides and try to know all of them beforehand, if at all you decide to…

        I NEVER comment anywhere but this episode has brought back some of my own old memories.
        Congratulations on your decision. More so, on bringing out the truth in open for others.

        Although we are in the 21st century, our people think wars can be won solely on the basis of mental toughness coming from facing harsh trainings and conditions. There have been no efforts to make our forces respond to socio-political changes in the society. It’s like we’re still running the British Army in 19th century. Plus there are people ready to be offended at the drop of one’s hat if you speak anything even remotely -ve about the forces. And in this case, even if you don’t.

        And please do not bring up something like “Sec 66(a) of IT Act” against me, but reading this & some of your other articles, I think I may be falling for you. 🙂

        All the best for anything you decide to do.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Wow , among so many haters here I have a man beginning to drop dews of love for me . What a relief seriously .

        Like

  3. Pankaj says:

    Hey
    Salute to your spirit young lady
    Kudos to the courage and conviction with which you have written
    I agree with some of your points. There surely is hypocricy at some levels.
    However, my question is very basic (Buniyadi Sawal) We as a country have made ourselves rigid to that extent that anyone who is cynical of the armed forces or its institurions is considered blasphemous regardless.
    Having trained at IMA myself i can say with a lot of conviction that malice runs deep in these institutions and one should be open for criticism
    You have a bright rational mind….i am sure you’d achieve much better than this.
    Cheers…!!!

    Like

  4. Pankaj says:

    Hey
    Salute to your spirit young lady.
    Kudos to the courage and conviction with which you have written.
    I agree to some of your points.There surely is hypocricy at some levels.
    However, my question is very basic in nature (Buniyad Sawal)We as a country have made ourselves rigid to that extent that anyone who is cynical of the armed forces or its institurions is considered blasphemous regardless.
    Having trained at IMA myself I can say with a lot of conviction that malice runs deep in these institutions and one should be open for criticism.
    You have a bright rational mind….i am sure you’d achieve much better than this.

    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much supporting the real intent with which I wrote . My intention was to help others make an informed choice n the only criticisms were for the flaws in training methodology that I felt . And now even officers from paramilitary forces are pouring in their messages as to how this country’s media pays scant attention to their sacrifices as compared to army etc.

      Like

      1. Pankaj says:

        I met with some random Army Officers at a Bar in Chandigarh who passed out from OTA some 3-4 years back and we struck a conversation over your blog. Interestingly, among them was a Lady Officer from Signals who was also a daughter of a retired senior officer.
        And, though it started with ridicule, somehow I made them agree to one thing, that “The writer of the blog had a point” nevertheless.
        Let me tell you that the entire hierarchy is privy to everything that is misaligned and they too are frustrated, However, there is no cushion for “dissent” as if this arises, is mellowed down by roaring voices of Honour, Code, Discipline to name a few. And when souls like you try to voice an opinion it is Pure Blasphemy for them and their intellect suddenly dives southwards.
        The reason is that, if they fail to ridicule and curb your voice or for that matter, agree to your opinion, they would be ostracized from the fraternity and they’s be outcasts.
        Hence, services are not a place for a Rational thinking, Creative and Independent minds like yourself.
        P.S – To reiterate, I am in no way trying to bring down the Noble Profession or the Services as a whole. But I strongly believe that any organization should be open to criticism.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly my point . And thanks for defending me … sweet of you

        Like

  5. Victor says:

    Is it true that in the OTA junior cadets are beaten by their seniors in the name of training?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meforearth says:

      No , not as far lady cadets are concerned. I can’t say about males

      Like

Leave a Reply

